Artur Pereira kindly performed at our concert for Macclesfield's Barnaby festival last year. Above is a video clip featuring Debussy's "Fireworks" on our Schulze Pollmann 190 Grand Piano and below is the programd notes from the Piano recital.



Sonata in A flat major Op. 110

I. Moderato cantabile molto espressivo

II. Allegro molto

III. Adagio ma non troppo, Fuga (Allegro ma non troppo), L'istesso tempo di arioso,   

L'istesso tempo della fuga

Beethoven's penultimate sonata gives us a glimpse at a more intimate side of the composer. In this work Beethoven reveals his approach to dealing with the loss of a loved one. The sonata takes us on a spiritual journey from the tender memories of the first movement, to the denial of an irrevocably lost past in the middle movement, and to the great lament and spiritualized restoration by prayer in the final movement.


Ce qu'a vu le vent d'Ouest (What the west wind has seen)

This piece evokes the destructive power of the wind. The work does not exhibit typical thematic elements, but is based more on rhythmic and harmonic features that imitate the wailing, bluster, and detached manner of one of nature's greatest forces.

La fille aux cheveux de lin (The girl with the flaxen hair)

This is one of Debussy's most consistently melodic piano pieces since "Clair de lune." It was written right before Debussy went to war in 1910 and it portrays the carefree, the beauty and simplicity of life in childhood.

La Cathédrale engloutie (The submerged cathedral)

In this prelude we find a quasi-religious vision. This piece is based on an ancient Breton myth in which a cathedral, submerged underwater off the coast of the Island of Ys, rises up from the sea on clear mornings when the water is transparent. Following the grand entrance and exit of the organ, the cathedral sinks back down into the ocean and the organ is heard once more, but from underwater. Sounds can be heard of priests chanting, bells chiming, and the organ playing, from across the sea.

Feux d'artifice (Fire works)

"Feux d'artifice" embodies the uninhibited joy of celebration. The prelude expresses a vivid, spontaneous kind of theatre, complete with its own audacities and magic. It also reminds of the traditional fireworks display of a 14 July Bastille Day celebration. The patriotic "Marseillaise" is heard in the closing measures. Never before has the echoes of the "Marseillaise" sounded so profound.


Hungarian Rhapsody No. 12

The Hungarian Rhapsody No. 12, one of Liszt's most elaborate, reveals the virtuosic, flamboyant side of Liszt's personality. This piece embodies the very essence of Hungary's folk music. We can hear anything from sorrow, mourning, seduction, courting and heroic marches to dances and frenzied parties. The gypsy spirit is brought to us by Liszt, one of the most celebrated pianists and composer of all times.


From the Workshop | Site specific music | Piano recital series based in Macclesfield Cheshire.  For tickets or more information please contact us on 0800 032 9919 or